20 weeks

20 weeks!  Wow.  Hard to believe it’s possible.  We’re really halfway to meeting our baby, or more, depending on when he/she decides to come.  Baby is supposed to be about 10 ounces and 10 inches, now (depending on where you read).  I’m always surprised at the speed of growth from week to week.  It seems impossible that I’m not showing or changing at all, but so far there have been no physical changes.

With that comes being spared from all the “horrors” of pregnancy – I can still sit and sleep in any position comfortably and I’m not in pain.  No complaints there!  The only addition to my pregnancy symptoms has been acid reflux.  I’ve had this problem off and on throughout my life so it makes sense it would come back.  It looks like I’ll be investing in a lot of tums!

I’ve been working on the baby registry; I’m still very unsure about it, but we’re going to need whatever help we can get.  I don’t have much choice.  It’s amazing how expensive things are just because they’re “for babies.”  I have no intention of paying double digits, or asking anyone else to, when I can go to dollar general and get the same things for less than $5.  Don’t get me started on all the things they sell that nobody could possibly ever need!

My 20 week appointment was straightforward.  I got some very bad news but on the baby front everything looks fine.  I was measuring 21 weeks, and baby’s heart rate was 145.  Baby was off to the left with it’s back turned, I assume sleeping because he/she was not so still last time my doctor listened for the heart.  The long awaited anatomic ultrasound will be on the 12th.  I’m really excited!  Most people have gotten to see their baby at least once by now, but we’ve had to wait.  It feels like it’s been a lifetime.

That’s about all for right now; I’ll definitely have more to say after the ultrasound!

~ by Ashlee on March 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
