Simple Collages

I’ve had a number of people ask me how I make collages.  This actually surprised me because it’s really easy!

There are two kinds of collages that I make (panel – above, and classic – below), but I use the same programs for both of them so this applies to either.


The first program you need isn’t specific – something you can crop with.  I use a lot of different ones but if you want a fast, easy recommendation I’d say Microsoft Picture It.

So what do you do with your cropped pictures?  Make them the sizes you need.  This is easier with panel collages because they only need to be the same size.  I usually shrink the larger ones down to the size of the smallest one.  If that’s not applicable, just choose a random size. 1000-1350 is my standard range.  Now the easiest way to do this is to use a resizing program.  Great news – FastStone Photo Resizer is free and saves a ton of time.

Step three is creating your collage.  Just open them up in paint and paste them where you want.  If you’re making a classic collage you just paste the frame over the photo.  Too easy, right?  It’s one of windows most basic programs and yet you can do so much with it.  What next?  Nothing!  You’re done!

~ by Ashlee on September 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
